SportsCollege SportsFAMU


Quinn Gray named to 2020 MEAC Hall of Fame Class

Posted at 12:45 AM, Nov 16, 2019
and last updated 2019-11-16 00:45:36-05

NORFOLK, Va. | Florida A&M University former football player Quinn Gray was among five members who will be inducted into the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) 2020 Hall of Fame class, the conference announced on Friday afternoon.

Joining Gray in the 2020 MEAC Hall of Fame class are Connell Maynor (North Carolina A&T State), Christopher McNeil (North Carolina A&T State), Jana Milin (Maryland Eastern Shore) and Alvin Wyatt, Sr. (Bethune-Cookman). The inductees will be enshrined into the 2020 MEAC Hall of Fame with an awards brunch on Thursday, March 12 at the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel in Norfolk, Va. In addition, the Hall of Fame class will also be recognized before the 6 p.m. men’s basketball game during the 2020 MEAC Basketball Tournament on March 12 at the Norfolk Scope Arena.

Gray flourished in the Gulf Coast offense era under legendary head coach Billy Joe – finishing as the Rattlers’ all-time leader at the time in passing yards (7,378), pass attempts (1,113), completions (562) and touchdown passes (57). He holds three of Florida A&M’s greatest single-game passing performances: 407 yards against South Carolina State in 2001, 390 yards against Morgan State in 2000 and 388 yards against rival Bethune-Cookman in 2000. Leading Florida A&M to back-to-back MEAC titles in 2000 and 2001, Gray reached the NCAA Div. I-AA (now FCS) playoffs all four years – including a run to the national semifinals in 1999. He signed with the Jacksonville Jaguars as a free agent in 2002, and he was the Jaguars’ backup from then to 2007.

Gray also played in NFL Europe in 2003, leading the Frankfurt Galaxy to the league championship. A native of Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Gray currently serves as head football coach at Lincoln (Fla.) High School, in addition to being a motivational speaker and director of the annual “Future Legends Foundation” football and cheerleaders camp presented by the American Cancer Society.

“I would like to congratulate the 2020 Hall of Fame class for all their accomplishments, both athletically and professionally,” said MEAC Commissioner Dr. Dennis E. Thomas. “The honorees have made significant contributions to their families, communities, institutions, and this conference. They are to be commended.”

The MEAC Hall of Fame highlights former student-athletes, coaches, university and conference administrators, as well as special contributors, who have enriched the legacy of the conference since its inception in 1970. Enshrinees were selected by an 11-person committee made up of administrators and representatives from member institutions.

The inaugural Hall of Fame class was inducted on May 29, 1981 during a 10-year anniversary banquet in Greensboro, N.C. Since its establishment, the MEAC Hall of Fame has enshrined 153 people, including the Class of 2020.

Follow Florida A&M Athletics

For complete coverage of Florida A&M athletics, please follow the Rattlers on social media at @FAMUAthletics (Twitter), /FAMUAth (Facebook), @famuathletics (Instagram) or visit the official home of Florida A&M Athletics at