NewsLocal News


John Thrasher's contract extended at FSU

John Thrasher
Posted at 4:51 PM, Jun 13, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-13 16:51:02-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — The state university system’s Board of Governors on Thursday approved the reappointments of the presidents of Florida State University, Florida Polytechnic University and New College of Florida.

The boards of trustees at universities make hiring and contract decisions about their presidents, but appointments and reappointments need approval from the Board of Governors.

Meeting Thursday at the University of South Florida, the board signed off on the reappointments of Florida State President John Thrasher, Florida Polytechnic President Randy Avent and New College President Donal O’Shea.

The moves extend Thrasher’s term as president through Nov. 10, 2020; Avent’s term through July 6, 2020; and O’Shea’s term through June 30, 2020, according to board documents.