Winston, Manziel, McCarron finalists for Maxwell

Posted at 6:03 PM, Nov 25, 2013
and last updated 2015-03-04 17:31:31-05

(AP) - Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron are finalists for the Maxwell Award, given to college football's player of the year.


Winston, who is being investigated in a sexual assault case by authorities in Tallahassee, Fla., is also up for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, with McCarron and Manziel.


Manziel won the O'Brien last season, along with the Heisman Trophy.


The finalists for nine awards to be handed out during ESPN's College Football Awards show on Dec. 12 will be announced Monday.


Pittsburgh defensive tackle Aaron Donald is also up for two awards - the Chuck Bednarik Award which goes to the defensive player of the year and the Outland Trophy which goes to the top interior lineman.