Winston headlines O'Brien watch list

Jameis Winston
Posted at 8:52 PM, Jul 16, 2014
and last updated 2014-07-16 20:52:00-04

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The Davey O'Brien Foundation announced the 2014 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List today, a group that includes 39 of the nation's top college quarterbacks.

This year's list is based on player performance during the previous year and expectations heading into the 2014 college football season. 

Jameis Winston of Florida State, the 2013 Davey O'Brien winner, headlines the list. He is bidding to become the fourth quarterback ever to win the award twice, joining BYU's Ty Detmer (1990-91), Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1995-96) and Oklahoma's Jason White (2003-04).

Winston is joined on the Watch List by five semifinalists from a year ago: Brett Hundley (UCLA), Sean Mannion (Oregon State), Marcus Mariota (Oregon), Braxton Miller (Ohio State) and Bryce Petty (Baylor).

*Davey O'Brien Foundation