UF’s Meagher named Tewaaraton Award Finalist

Florida University Gators
Posted at 12:01 PM, May 09, 2013
and last updated 2013-05-17 13:28:41-04

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Senior goalie Mikey Meagher (Liverpool, N.Y.) has been announced as one of five 2013 Tewaaraton Award on Thursday presented by Panama Jack.  Meagher is the first goalie in the history of the women’s award to be named a finalist, which honors the nation’s top male and female college lacrosse player. Meagher has been invited to attend the awards ceremony in Washington, D.C. on May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

Meagher is the Gators’ second finalist in two seasons, as midfielder Brittany Dashiell earned a top five spot last season. She is currently the core of the Florida defense, a unit that ranks second in the nation and allows just 6.58 goals per game. On the season, she has recorded 104 saves for a .495 save percentage and ranks second in goals-against average (6.61).

The 2013 ALC Goalie of the Year and reigning IWLCA Goalie of the Year holds a 49-8 career record in the cage with 386 saves and a .486 save percentage. She has guided the Gators to a 17-2 overall record this season and their third regular season ALC title.  UF earned the No. 5 seed in this year’s NCAA Tournament and will begin play on Sunday, facing the winner of Denver and Jacksonville at Dizney Stadium. Opening draw is set for 1 p.m.

Along with Meagher, reigning Tewaaraton Award winner Maryland attacker Katie Schwarzmann returns to the finalists list, along with Terps attacker Alex Aust, North Carolina midfielder Kara Cannizzaro, and Syracuse attacker Alyssa Murray. Nine of the 10 finalists, including all five women’s honorees, will compete in this month’s NCAA lacrosse championships. At the conclusion of the tournament, the selection committees will vote on and select this year’s winners.

“It is the ultimate achievement for these 10 finalists to have been recognized by the game’s very best coaches on the Tewaaraton Selection Committees,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of The Tewaaraton Foundation. “They are all worthy of the sport’s ultimate award, and we could not be more excited to have this group come to Washington, D.C., on May 30.”

In addition, Meagher becomes just the third goalie overall to be a finalist for the award. On the men's side, Princeton's Trevor Tierney (2001) and Syracuse's John Galloway (2011) were both prior finalists.

Men’s finalist for the award include University of North Carolina attackman Marcus Holman, Syracuse University midfielder JoJo Marasco, Cornell University attackman Rob Pannell, Princeton University midfielder Tom Schreiber and University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson.