Three Seminoles Earn ACC Postgraduate Scholarships

Posted at 9:28 PM, Feb 21, 2013
and last updated 2013-02-21 21:28:00-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced on Thursday a list of 41 student-athletes who have been selected for the Weaver-James-Corrigan Award. Among the scholarship recipients are three from Florida State University including Tiana Brockway (soccer), Kristine Polley (swimming) and Andres Bucaro (tennis).

The ACC also awarded three student-athletes the Thacker Award, while five student-athletes who plan to enter a professional career in their chosen sport were named honorary recipients.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan and Jim and Pat Thacker scholarships are awarded to selected student-athletes – three from each league institution – who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Each recipient will receive $5,000 toward his or her graduate education. Those honored have performed with distinction in both the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary conduct in the community.