TCC places four on All-PC softball teams

TCC Tallahassee Eagles logo
Posted at 2:27 PM, Apr 26, 2013
and last updated 2013-04-29 06:12:59-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (April 26, 2013) –Tallahassee Community College placed four players on the Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference softball teams.


Tallahassee’s quartet of all-PC picks included two first-team selections – third baseman Brenda Santana and outfielder Ashley Heath-Smith.


Second baseman Krista Garcia and outfielder Marina Cobbs were named all-PC honorable mention.


Santana, a freshman from Long Beach, Calif., has played in 40 games and leads the Eagles in home runs (6), RBI (30), slugging (.569) and on-base percentage (.438). Her .358 batting average is second on the team.


Heath-Smith, a freshman from Merced, Calif., has played in and started 44 games while batting a team-high .368. She leads the Eagles in hits (53) and doubles (13) and is second on the squad in runs scored (35).


Garcia, a freshman from Tampa, Fla., has played in 43 games and posted a .259 batting average with 17 RBI. She and Cobbs share team-high honors with two triples.


Cobbs, a freshman from Cantonment, Fla., has played in 43 games and batted .328 with 16 RBI. She leads the Eagles in runs scored (37) and stolen bases (13).


Tallahassee will carry a 20-26 record and the Panhandle Conference’s No. 4 seed into next weekend’s NJCAA Region 8B/FCSAA Gulf District Softball Tournament in Pensacola, Fla., The Eagles will open play at 1 p.m. eastern, Friday, May 3 against Suncoast Conference Co-Champion and No. 1 seed Hillsborough Community College.


All games will be carried online by Panhandle Sports Broadcasting at Day one will be audio-only while days two and three will include video.


2013 Coaches’ All-Panhandle Conference Softball Teams



Infielders: Emily Sanders, Gulf Coast State; Jaime Phillips, Northwest Florida State; Hayley Parker, Chipola; Brenda Santana, Tallahassee; Amanda Grimaldo, Gulf Coast State.

Outfielders: Leticia Matsuoka, Northwest Florida State; Ashley Heath-Smith, Tallahassee; Kristen Allen, Chipola; Jenna Firestein, Northwest Florida State.

Catchers: Stephanie Garrels, Chipola; Hannah Day, Northwest Florida State.

At-Large: Mya Anderson, Chipola; Anna Martin, Gulf Coast State.

Pitchers: Ollivia McLemore, Gulf Coast State; Eva Voortman, Chipola; Paige Caraway, Gulf Coast State; Karissa Childs, Chipola.


Player of the Year: Emily Sanders, Gulf Coast State

Pitcher of the Year: Ollivia McLemore, Gulf Coast State

Coach of the Year: Susan Painter, Gulf Coast State



Infielders: Shawna Montgomery, Pensacola State; Michelle Phelps, Northwest Florida State; Jasmine Tanksley, Chipola; Brittany Wylie, Gulf Coast State; Katie Harrison, Chipola.

Outfielders: Katie White, Gulf Coast State; Chandler Seay, Chipola; Brook Richardson, Pensacola State; Sian Colee, Gulf Coast State.

Catchers: Mackenzie Arlt, Gulf Coast State; Dee Rodriguez, Pensacola State.

At-Large: Lena Land, Northwest Florida State; Becca Calloway, Pensacola State.

Pitchers: Haley Goodson, Northwest Florida State; Jessica Colliver, Northwest Florida State; Maude McCourry, Northwest Florida State; Greta Longagnani, Pensacola State.


Honorable Mention

Infielders: Krista Garcia, Tallahassee; Jennifer Phillips, Northwest Florida State; Kelly Hayes, Pensacola State; Alyssa Hathcoat, Chipola.

Outfielders: Megan Borak, Chipola; Marina Cobbs, Tallahassee; Emily Pettigrew, Pensacola State.

At-Large: Ashley Peters, Pensacola State.

Pitcher: Rose de Vries, Chipola.