Six Seminoles Named to Preseason Watch Lists

Florida State Seminoles FSU Noles logo 2014
Posted at 8:52 PM, Jul 07, 2014
and last updated 2014-07-07 20:52:00-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Six Florida State football players were named to preseason national award watch lists on Monday.

Reigning Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston led three Seminoles selected to the Maxwell Award Watch List. He was joined by rising senior wide receiver Rashad Greene and rising senior running back Karlos Williams. Winston was a finalist for the 2013 Maxwell Award.

Rising junior cornerback P.J. Williams and rising junior defensive end Mario Edwards, Jr. were named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List.

The Maxwell Award has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937, while the Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on Nov. 3, 2014, while finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 24, 2014. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 11, 2014. The formal presentational of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Revel Casino Hotel Atlantic City on March 6, 2015.

Rounding out the Florida State honorees on Monday was rising sophomore wide receiver/kick returner Levonte “Kermit” Whitfield, who was named to the Paul Hornung Award Watch List.

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its fifth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung.

*FSU Sports Information