Noles prepare for NCAA Super Regionals in Austin

Posted at 7:54 AM, May 21, 2013
and last updated 2015-03-04 17:31:20-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – The Florida State softball team plays in its first NCAA Super Regional since 2006 as it heads to Austin, Texas to compete against the fourth-seeded University of Texas beginning Friday, May 24 in a nationally-televised two-day event on ESPNU.


The Seminoles (44-17) and Longhorns (47-8) square off on Friday at 9 p.m. ET, followed by two Saturday contests at 3 p.m. ET and 6 p.m. ET that also air on ESPNU. The third game will only be played if both teams split their first two contests.


Florida State’s miraculous 7-6 comeback victory over South Alabama on Sunday evening in the Mobile Regional elimination game punched its ticket to Austin to face the Big 12 challenger. The Seminoles faced a 6-1 deficit in the bottom of the seventh inning with two outs before stringing together a few improbable hits to clinch its super regional bid.


All-session reserved seats at Red & Charline McCombs Field are $25, while all-session general admission is $20. If available, single-session tickets will go on sale Wednesday, May 22 at 9 a.m.


All-session tickets include admission to all three games of the NCAA Super Regional and may be purchased online at, by phone at 800-982-BEVO or in person at the UT Athletics Ticket Office in Bellmont Hall (9 a.m.-4 p.m. Central).


Single-session Tickets are sent via email when selecting the print-at-home delivery option, or they may be selected for Will Call. Selecting print-at-home avoids possible long lines at Will Call. Customers who select Will Call may pick up their tickets at the UT Athletics Ticket Office in Bellmont Hall starting Wednesday, May 22 at 9 a.m. On the first day of the NCAA Super Regional, Will Call tickets may only be picked up at the McCombs Field box office beginning one hour prior to the first game.


The Austin Super Regional is one of eight sites hosting this weekend’s action. The other hosts include No. 1 seed Oklahoma, No. 2 Florida, No. 3 Oregon, No. 5 Arizona State, No. 6 Missouri, No. 7 Tennessee and No. 8 Michigan. Television slots and super regional schedules for all sites can be found on