MEAC announces preseason honors

FAMU Florida A&M Rattlers Logo
Posted at 8:57 PM, Jul 26, 2013
and last updated 2013-07-26 20:57:00-04

NORFOLK, Va., July 26, 2013 – Florida A&M quarterback Damien Fleming and Bethune-Cookman

running back Isidore Jackson along with linebacker Jarkevis Fields received top honors as the Mid-

Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) announced its 2013 preseason football players of the year at the

annual Football Press Luncheon Banquet on Friday afternoon at the Norfolk Marriott Waterside Hotel in


All preseason honors are voted on by the MEAC’s football coaches and sports information directors.

Bethune-Cookman, the defending conference champion, was predicted to finish first in the annual

preseason poll. The Wildcats finished the 2012 season with an unblemished 8-0 mark and 9-3 overall

record. For the second straight year South Carolina State was picked to finish second while North

Carolina A&T was selected to finish third.

Fleming finished second in the MEAC in passing yards with 2,175, completing 214-of-308 pass attempts.

He ranked second in the conference in passing efficiency (142.2) and passing yards per game (196.1).

Fleming led the Rattlers in total offense (2,351) in 11 games of action.

Jackson, a native of Mossy Head, Florida, led the MEAC in rushing with 1,069 yards on 191 attempts.

He averaged 89.1 yards per game and recorded 11 touchdowns. He finished third on the team in receiving

with 148 yards, averaging 12.3 yards per game. He led the Wildcats in scoring (72 points) and all-purpose

yards (1,217) during his junior season.

Fields finished sixth in the conference and led the Wildcats in total tackles with 103 including 46 solo and

57 assists. He averaged 8.6 tackles per game and recorded six tackles for a loss, four breakups, four

deflections, one sack, and one forced fumble.

Florida A&M led all teams with six student-athletes receiving first-team preseason honors. Bethune-

Cookman and Delaware State were tied at second with five student-athletes to earn a first-team nod.