Maclay's Bruce Irvin elected to FHSAA Hall of Fame

Posted at 9:21 PM, Feb 21, 2013
and last updated 2013-04-17 12:58:44-04

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – Seven individuals—three coaches, two administrators and two student-athletes—will be inducted into the Florida High School Athletic Hall of Fame April 28 in Gainesville during the 23rd-annual Induction Ceremony. The Class of 2013 includes Robert Green, Bruce Irvin, Norman Jackson, Charles “Buddy” Lowe, Paul McLaughlin, John Messina and Holly Thompson.

“There have been many talented individuals in the state of Florida that have made an impact in lives that reach far beyond wins and losses in high school interscholastic  athletics,” FHSAA Executive Director Dr. Roger Dearing said. “The seven individuals in the Class of 2013 were able to combine athletic excellence in their area with a spirit of giving back to the community and it is a privilege to be able to recognize them in this way.”

Bruce Irvin – as a coach and athletic director at Maclay School in Tallahassee, tallied 34 state championships across all sports along with 20 runner-up finishes while holding leadership positions with FACA, the FIAAA and FHSAA on the Representative Assembly and Board of Directors.