Helio Castroneves wins his fourth Indianapolis 500

Posted at 3:30 PM, May 30, 2021
and last updated 2021-05-30 16:18:32-04

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Helio Castroneves has joined the exclusive club of four-time Indianapolis 500 winners.

He celebrated by scaling the fence at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in front of the largest crowd since the start of the pandemic.

The Brazilian joined A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr. and Rick Mears, his former mentor at Team Penske, as the only four-time winners of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” Mears was the last driver to join the club in 1991.