Godby's Pugh named semi-finalist for Butkus Award

Godby High School
Posted at 4:38 PM, Oct 28, 2013
and last updated 2013-10-28 16:38:00-04

CHICAGO – (October 28, 2013) – Leading candidates for football’s prestigious Butkus Award® honoring the nation’s top football linebackers were announced today by the Butkus Foundation. 

The 12 collegiate semi-finalists include returning finalist C.J. Mosley of Alabama.  The 12 high school finalists are from eight states, with three each from Ohio and Florida.  Finalists will be announced November 26 and winners will be announced by December 10. The pro winner will be announced in early 2014.

The Butkus Award honors outstanding linebackers at three levels of play, while spreading the word about the I Play Clean™ initiative, which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play smart, instead of resorting to performance-enhancing drugs.  More information is available at or at

“This Award is about honoring linebackers at all levels, and reminding them that they have a responsibility to serve as role models and to give back to society,” said Dick Butkus, the legendary Pro Football Hall of Fame linebacker.

Collegiate 2013 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:

Anthony Barr               UCLA

Lamin Barrow             Louisiana State University

Chris Borland              University of Wisconsin

Khairi Fortt                  University of California

Khalil Mack                 University at Buffalo

C.J. Mosley*               University of Alabama

Denzel Perryman        University of Miami (Fla.)

Trevor Reilly                University of Utah

Ryan Shazier              The Ohio State University

Shayne Skov              Stanford University

Yawin Smallwood       University of Connecticut

Kyle Van Noy              Brigham Young University

* Denotes 2012 Semi-Finalist

High School 2013 Butkus Award Semi-Finalists:

Dante Booker             St. Vincent-St. Mary, Akron, OH

Kyle Berger                 St. Ignatius High School, Cleveland, OH

Christian Miller            Spring Valley High School, Columbia, SC

Nyles Morgan             Crete-Monee High School, Crete, IL

Dwight Williams          Junipero Serra High School, Gardena, CA

Raekwon McMillan     Liberty County High School, Hinesville, GA

Kain Daub**               Sandalwood High School, Jacksonville, FL

Tre Williams                St. Paul's Episcopal High School, Mobile, AL

Connor Strachan        St. Sebastians School, Needham, MA

Dillon Bates                Ponte Vedra High School, Ponte Vedra, FL

Michael Ferns             St. Clairsville High School, St. Clairsville, OH

Jacob Pugh**             Godby High School, Tallahassee, FL


** Denotes Florida State commit


Butkus Award honorees are selected by a 51-person panel comprised of scouts, coaches and journalists.   Selectors follow all rules of their leagues, including limitations on contact with players.  Individual votes remain completely confidential.  Last season’s Butkus Award winners were: Manti Te’o, Notre Dame (San Diego Chargers); Jaylon Smith, Bishop Luers Fort Wayne, Ind. (Notre Dame); and Von Miller, Denver Broncos.

Considered one of the greatest football players in history, Dick Butkus was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1979, following an illustrious career with the Chicago Bears, University of Illinois and Chicago Vocational School.  Meanwhile, his son Matt, a defensive lineman for USC’s 1990 Rose Bowl winning team, joins his father in philanthropic efforts.  More information is at

The Butkus Award, or, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. It is part of the National College Football Awards Association, a coalition of the major collegiate awards. More information is available at