FSU broadcaster Gene Deckerhoff to receive Schenkel Award

National Football Foundation logo
Posted at 8:11 PM, Jul 22, 2013
and last updated 2013-07-22 20:11:00-04

IRVING, Texas (July 22, 2013) – The National Football Foundation (NFF) announced today that Florida State University broadcaster Gene Deckerhoff will be the recipient of the 2013 NFF Chris Schenkel Award. Presented annually since 1996, the award recognizes individuals who have had long, distinguished careers broadcasting college football with direct ties to a specific university.

“Gene Deckerhoff’s broadcasting career with the Seminoles has spanned more than thirty years, and during this time, his voice has become synonymous with one of the greatest college football traditions in the country,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “We are pleased to honor Gene with the Chris Schenkel Award as a tribute to all of his accomplishments.”

During his three-decade career in Tallahassee, Deckerhoff has worked with some of Florida State’s greatest coaches and athletes, including College Football Hall of Fame coach Bobby Bowden and Hall of Fame players Deion Sanders, Ron Simmons, and Charlie Ward. His time at Florida State has included two national championships (’93, ’99), 13 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) championships, two Heisman Trophy winners and countless legendary calls.

Deckerhoff has accepted the Florida Sportscaster of the Year Award an astounding 14 times from the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association. In addition to being inducted into the Florida Sports Hall of Fame in 2000 and the Florida State University Athletics Hall of Fame in 2002, Deckerhoff's many accolades include winning the ‘86 and ‘91 Silver Medal Award from the American Advertising Association for Florida State’s weekly broadcast of “The Bobby Bowden Show.”

Deckerhoff will accept the Schenkel Award December 10 alongside the recipients of the other NFF Major Awards, including Oklahoma Athletics Director Joe Castiglione (The NFF John L. Toner Award for excellence in athletics administration), NCAA Vice President Dennie Poppe (The NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award) and the yet-to-be announced winners of the NFF Distinguished American Award and the NFF Gold Medal.