Florida State's Dagny Brynjarsdottir named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Dagny Brynjarsdottir celebration 10/12/14
Posted at 10:39 PM, Feb 17, 2015
and last updated 2015-02-19 10:45:29-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State senior midfielder Dagny Brynjarsdottir has been named the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year as announced Tuesday by Commissioner John Swofford. Brynjarsdottir was one of a league-high seven Seminoles that were recognized on the All-ACC Women’s Soccer Academic Team in 2014.

Brynjarsdottir, who earned her degree in sport management in December, was the 2014 NSCAA Scholar Player of the Year and a three-time All-ACC selection. She earned ACC Offensive Player of the Year honors and was named the ACC Women’s Soccer Championship’s Most Valuable Player in 2014.

A native of Hella, Iceland, Brynjarsdottir earned NSCAA first team All-America honors, was tabbed the Soccer America Player of the Year, a finalist for the Honda Award and a runner-up for the MAC Hermann Trophy following the 2014 season in which she led the Seminoles to their first NCAA title and second straight ACC Championship.

Joining Brynjarsdottir on the All-ACC Academic Team are Megan Campbell, Kristin Grubka, Emma Koivisto, Carson Pickett, Isabella Schmid and Cheyna Williams. The trio of Brynjarsdottir, Campbell and Grubka are all two-time members of the ACC All-Academic Team.

*FSU Sports Information