Eagles’ Trent Higginbothem named FCSAA Baseball Player of the Year

TCC Tallahassee Eagles logo
Posted at 1:07 PM, May 10, 2013
and last updated 2013-05-11 11:49:20-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (May 10, 2013) - Tallahassee Community College’s Trent Higginbothem added another entry to his list of postseason accolades on Thursday when he was named Baseball Player of the Year by the Florida College System Activities Association (FCSAA). 


Higginbothem, the Eagles’ sophomore third baseman, was also a first-team all-state selection by the FCSAA, along with teammate Clay Fenwick, who made the squad as an outfielder.


This marks the fourth time, but first since 2004, the Eagles have placed at least two players on the first-team.


A native of Pace, Fla., Higginbothem was previously named Panhandle Conference Player of the Year and a first-team All-PC selection. He is just the second Eagle to claim the FCSAA’s top offensive honor – A.J. Johnson won the award in 2004 and was later named NJCAA Player of the Year.


Only two other players in Tallahassee’s history have picked up an FCSAA Player of the Year award – Michael Ziegler was FCSAA Pitcher of the Year in 1999; four years later, Brent Marsh was FCSAA Fireman of the Year.


Higginbothem is currently batting .385 with three home runs and 66 RBI.


Fenwick, a native of Jacksonville, Fla., transferred to Tallahassee after playing his freshman season at Wallace Community College-Dothan (Ala.). He currently leads the Eagles with a .434 batting average and has added two home runs and 54 RBI.