SportsCollege SportsFSU


1 Team 1 Dream: FSU in Omaha for College World Series

Posted at 1:13 PM, Jun 14, 2019
and last updated 2019-06-14 15:51:31-04

OMAHA, Neb. (WTXL) — The Seminole baseball team is now in Omaha on the quest to bring home a national title!

They're only five wins away from their very first National title.

The College World Series is in Omaha, Nebraska. Since 1950, the country's top eight college baseball teams have descended onto the midwestern city and the best team is crowned National Champion.

Rosenblatt Stadium served as the playing field for sixty years. The last College World Series was played at Rosenblatt in 2010, and the stadium was imploded in 2012.

Since 2011, TD Ameritrade Park has served as home base for the College World Series. The state of the art park holds up to 35,000 fans.

Southern Cal owns the most Championships of any team winning 12 College World Series titles. Florida State, has the most appearances without winning a Championship. 2019 marks their 23rd trip to Omaha.

This year's tournament features teams from four different conferences with the SEC leading the way with Mississippi State, Auburn, Vanderbilt and Arkansas. Texas Tech and Michigan represent the Big 12 and the Big 10 respectively, while Louisville and the Seminoles hold down the ACC.

The ACC has won two College World Series crowns, Virginia the last to do it in 2015.

Oregon State, last year's Champ, and the road to a new champion begins on Saturday.

The College World Series will be held in Omaha until at least 2035.

The 2019 series gets underway at 2 p.m. on Saturday. Texas Tech and Michigan get everything going with Florida State playing the nightcap at 7 p.m. against Arkansas.

We'll have a lot more from Omaha with Florida State coming your way in the coming days so be sure to keep it locked to WTXL for your FSU baseball coverage.

To keep up with what Sports Director Alison Posey is doing, follow her on Twitter and on Facebook.