SportsCollege SportsFAMU


Ryan Stanley wins MEAC Offensive Player of the Year

Posted at 4:03 PM, Dec 10, 2019
and last updated 2019-12-10 17:46:49-05

NEW YORK, NY. — Florida A&M University redshirt senior quarterback Ryan Stanley was announced as the 2019 Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Offensive Player of the Year, the conference announced on Tuesday morning.

Stanley, along with MEAC Defensive Player of the Year Darius Royster, of North Carolina Central, were officially named during the 62nd Annual National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame press conference in the Trianon Ballroom on the third floor of the New York Hilton Midtown Hotel in New York City.

"This means a lot to me," Stanley said. "When you see so many talented people who've won in the past, I'm humbled to have my name in this category."

Stanley led the Rattlers to a 9-2 overall record this season and the program's first national ranking since 2009. The Pembroke Pines, Fla. native was the top passer in the MEAC, averaging over 256 yards per game. He has broken four program career records at Florida A&M, setting new marks for passing touchdowns, passing completions, passing attempts and passing yards. He threw for 2,566 yards and 23 touchdowns this season and had three 300-yard games, including a 427-yard outing against South Carolina State.

A First Team All-MEAC selection, Stanley was also on the Watch List for the Walter Payton Award and is a finalist for the Black College Football Player of the Year award.

Stanley became the eighth Rattler to earn the MEAC Offensive Player of the Year award, but the first since Curtis Pulley won the award 10 years ago. He is the fifth quarterback from Florida A&M to earn the award. He leaves the Rattlers as the all-time career leader in touchdowns (67), pass attempts (1,187), completions (636) and passing yards (8,424). He is ranked first in MEAC history in pass attempts and second in total passing yards (8,424) and pass completions.

Stanley and Royster will be recognized during the NFF Annual Awards Dinner Presented by ETT later Tuesday night.

Ryan Stanley Postseason Honors
MEAC Offensive Player of the Year
All-MEAC First Team Quarterback
Black College Football Player of the Year Award Finalist
HBCU Gameday/Protect Your Skull Offensive Player of the Year Finalist