SportsCollege SportsFAMU


Former FAMU head coach Rudy Hubbard to be inducted into College Football Hall of Fame

ruby hubbard.PNG
Posted at 1:16 PM, Jan 11, 2021
and last updated 2021-01-11 13:36:13-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) — Legendary former Florida A&M head football coach Rudy Hubbard will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Monday afternoon, the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Hall of Fame announced the induction of Hubbard as a member of its 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class.

He will be the the fourth Rattler coach to enter the College Football Hall of Fame. Hubbard was inducted into the Florida A&M University Sports Hall of Fame in 1990.

Hubbard is the only HBCU head coach to win the Division I-AA (now FCS) national title and posted 83 wins in his 12 seasons at FAMU.

From 1974-85, Hubbard compiled an 83-48-3 overall record, the third most wins in school history behind fellow College Football Hall of Fame Coaches Jake Gaither(203) and Billy Joe(86).

Hubbard's most successful stretch occurred from 1977-79 as the Rattlers compiled a 30-5 record, including a perfect 11-0 mark in 1977.

The team won back-to-back Black College Football National Championships and conference titles in 1977 and 1978.

Standout players he coached included College Football Hall of Famer and three-time All-America offensive guard Tyrone McGriff.

Hubbard ended his collegiate coaching career in 1985, but served as head coach at James S. Rickards High School in Tallahassee from 2008-11.

Now retired, he is working with his son to write a how-to-book on winning.

The 2021 CFHOF class will be officially inducted during the 63rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner, alongside the 2020 Hall of Fame Class, on Dec. 7, 2021 at the New York Hilton Midtown.

The rest of the 2021 College Football Hall of Fame Class is below:


· Rudy Hubbard – 83-48-3; Florida A&M (1974-85)

· Bob Stoops – 190-48-0; Oklahoma (1999-2016)


· Harris Barton – OT, North Carolina (1983-86)

· David Fulcher – DB, Arizona State (1983-85)

· Dan Morgan – LB, Miami [FL] (1997-2000)

· Carson Palmer – QB, Southern California (1998-2002)

· Tony Romo – QB, Eastern Illinois (1999-2002)

· Kenneth Sims – DT, Texas (1978-81)

· C.J. Spiller – RB/KR, Clemson (2006-09)

· Darren Sproles – RB, Kansas State (2001-04)

· Aaron Taylor – OT, Notre Dame (1990-93)

· Andre Tippett – DE, Iowa (1979-81)

· Al Wilson – LB, Tennessee (1995-98)