2013 Bronko Nagurski watch list revealed

Florida State Football
Posted at 4:36 PM, Jul 11, 2013
and last updated 2013-07-11 16:36:00-04

DALLAS (FWAA) - South Carolina junior end Jadeveon Clowney, the lone returning finalist from last season, heads the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List of 81 standout defensive players, announced today by the Football Writers Association of America.

One of the players on the watch list most likely will be awarded the Bronko Nagurski Trophy, presented annually to the national defensive player of the year by the FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club. Every NCAA Division I Bowl Subdivision conference and several independents are represented on the list that is evenly divided among linemen, linebackers and defensive backs.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. Once again, the FWAA will choose a Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Week each Tuesday throughout the season. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Nov. 21.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2013 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 25-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet will be held on Dec. 9 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2013 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway. Georgia Tech's Randy Rhino, a member of the FWAA's 1972 All-America team, will be honored. Florida head coach Will Muschamp will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.


Ricardo Allen, Purdue, DB

Jeremiah Attaochu, Georgia Tech, DL

Deion Barnes, Penn State, DL

Calvin Barnett, Oklahoma State, DL

Anthony Barr, UCLA, LB

Deion Belue, Alabama, DB

Bene Benwikere, San Jose State DB

Greg Blair, Cincinnati, LB

Chris Borland, Wisconsin, LB

Tre Boston, North Carolina, DB

Carl Bradford, Arizona State, LB

Morgan Breslin, USC, DL

Jonathan Brown, Illinois, LB

Christian Bryant, Ohio State, DB

Max Bullough, Michigan State, LB

Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina, DL

Ross Cockrell, Duke, DB

Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma, DB

Scott Crichton, Oregon State, DL

Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State, DB

Quandre Diggs, Texas, DB

Aaron Donald, Pittsburgh, DL

Dominique Easley, Florida, DL

Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, DB

Antone Exum, Virginia Tech, DB

Devonte Fields, TCU, DL

Ben Gardner, Stanford, DL

Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State, DB

Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama, DB

Ra'Shede Hageman, Minnesota, DL

Bryce Hager, Baylor, LB

Andre Hal, Vanderbilt, DB

Jordan Hicks, Texas, LB

Adrian Hubbard, Alabama, LB

Kerry Hyder, Texas Tech, DL

Andrew Jackson, Western Kentucky, LB

Shawn Jackson, Tulsa, LB

Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas, DL

Timmy Jernigan, Florida State, DL

A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, LB

Anthony Johnson, LSU, DL

Christian Jones, Florida State, LB

Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State, DB

Eric Kendricks, UCLA, LB

Demarcus Lawrence, Boise State, DL

Shaun Lewis, Oklahoma State, LB

Craig Loston, LSU, DB

Aaron Lynch, USF, DL

Khalil Mack, Buffalo, LB

Kareem Martin, North Carolina, DL

Daniel McCullers, Tennessee, DL

Terrance Mitchell, Oregon, DB

James Morris, Iowa, LB

C.J. Mosley, Alabama, LB

Trent Murphy, Stanford, LB

Marco Nelson, Tulsa, DB

Louis Nix III, Notre Dame, DL

Roosevelt Nix, Kent State, DL

Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, LB

Kevin Pierre-Louis, Boston College, LB

Hayes Pullard, USC, LB

Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida, DB

Ed Reynolds, Stanford, DB

Bradley Roby, Ohio State, DB

Marcus Rush, Michigan State, DL

Tyler Scott, Northwestern, DL

Ryan Shazier, Ohio State, LB

Shayne Skov, Stanford, LB

Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut, LB

Chris Smith, Arkansas, DL

Hakeem Smith, Louisville, DB

Will Sutton, Arizona State, DL

Damian Swann, Georgia, DB

Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame, DL

Jack Tyler, Virginia Tech, LB

Kyle Van Noy, BYU, LB

Jason Verrett, TCU, DB

Nickoe Whitley, Mississippi State, DB

Nikita Whitlock, Wake Forest, DL

Leonard Williams, USC, DL

Ty Zimmerman, Kansas State, DB

By conference: SEC (16), Pac-12 (14), Big Ten (13), ACC (12), Big 12 (12), American Athletic (4), Independents (3), Conference USA (2), Mid-American (2), Mountain West (2), Sun Belt (1).

The FWAA has named a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw "Bronko" Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.