Aguayo Earns Second Preseason Accolade of the Summer

Posted at 11:50 PM, Jul 15, 2015
and last updated 2015-07-15 23:50:00-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State’s Roberto Aguayo added to his preseason accolades in 2015 as the Seminole placekicker was named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List on Wednesday morning.

The Wuerffel Trophy, known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented annually by the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Fla.  Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy is awarded to the FBS player that best combines exemplary community service with athletic and academic achievement.

Aguayo, who is also on the preseason watch list for the 2015 Lou Groza Award, has solidified himself as one of the nation’s best kickers in college football following spectacular seasons in 2013 and 2014. After winning the Groza Award in 2013 and earning finalists honors in 2014, Aguayo has put together a nice career at Florida State tallying 293 points in 28 games converting 197-of-201 (48-of-52 FG and 149-of-149 PATs) all-time kicks, while connecting on a career-long 53-yard field goal twice.

Last year, Aguayo captured consensus All-America honors and earned All-ACC First Team accolades after making 27 of 30 field goals and going a perfect 55 of 55 on extra points. His 90.0 field goal percentage ranked first in the country (minimum 20 made), while his 136 points ranked eighth in the country overall and second among kickers. He led the ACC in kicker scoring and ranked second overall and made the second-most field goals of anybody in the country.

As a redshirt freshman in 2013, Aguayo broke the national record for points by a kicker in a season with 157 points, while establishing the FSU and ACC single-season scoring records. The Mascotte, Fla., native outscored eight of FSU’s 14 opponents himself, made 115 of his 116 kicks (.991) and went 94-for-94 on extra point attempts to set the NCAA record for most extra points made in a season without a miss. Aguayo finished the year as the highest scoring kicker in the nation and the third-highest scoring player overall (11.2 ppg).

Aguayo has also been a leader off the field, participating in several community service efforts, including speaking at schools, taking part in fundraisers for FSU’s Dance Marathon, Kidz1stFund and the student-athlete-run Uplifting Athletes, which raises money for rare diseases. FSU’s Dance Marathon raised more than $1 million last year, while Uplifting Athletes helped to raise more than $17,000 for Fanconi anemia research at their Lift for Life event.

In 2015, Aguayo was recognized as the Golden Nole winner for football, which honors student-athletes from each sport for the contributions they make on the field, in the classroom and in the community.

Aguayo is on track to graduate this fall with a bachelor’s of science in Criminology. Florida State’s Criminology department is rated as one of the top 10 programs in the country. 

Voting for the Wuerffel Trophy is performed by a National Selection Committee that includes college football television and print media, industry notables, former head coaches and prior Wuerffel Trophy recipients. 

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 3 and finalists will be announced on November 24.  Formal announcement of the winner will be on December 8 at the National Football Foundation’s press conference in New York City.

The presentation of the 2015 Wuerffel Trophy will occur at the 47th Annual All Sports Association Awards Banquet on February 12, 2016 in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.