ACC announces baseball championship schedule

ACC Logo
Posted at 2:13 PM, May 19, 2013
and last updated 2013-05-25 14:25:29-04

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Florida State heads to Durham, N.C., site of the 2013 ACC Baseball Championship, as the No. 2 seed after claiming their seventh straight Atlantic Division title.


The Seminoles will open the tournament against seventh-seeded Georgia Tech on Wednesday, May 22 at 11:00 a.m., as announced by the Atlantic Coast Conference on Sunday morning.


As the No. 2 overall seed, Florida State (44-11, 20-10 in ACC play) will be placed in one division with No. 3 Virginia (45-9, 22-8), No. 6 Virginia Tech (35-19, 15-14) and No. 7 Georgia Tech (33-23, 15-15).


The Seminoles will face Virginia Tech in their second game of the tournament on Thursday, May 23 at 7:00 p.m. and will conclude pool play on Saturday, May 25 against third-seeded Virginia at 11:00 a.m.


Under the pool-play format, each team will play one game against each of the other three opponents in its division Wednesday-Saturday (May 22-25). The two teams with the best records within their respective divisions will advance to the title game on Sunday, May 26 at 1:00 p.m. on the ESPN2, with the winner earning the ACC's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.


This marks the eighth time in conference history that the ACC Baseball Championship will be held in Durham. The Seminoles have played in the championship game the last two times the tournament has been held at the Durham Bulls Athletic Park (2010 & 2012) and four times in seven previous appearances in Durham.


FSU owns a record of 17-14 all-time when the ACC Baseball Championship is played in North Carolina. The Seminoles have played for the conference championship four times in Durham, in 1996, 1998, 2009 and 2011 and once in Greensboro in 2010. FSU won the league title in Greensboro after defeating NC State 8-3.


North Carolina (47-8, 21-7) is the No. 1 seed and will be joined in its pool by No. 4 NC State (42-13, 19-10), No. 5 Clemson (39-17, 18-12) and No. 8 Miami (35-21, 14-16).


All 13 games of this year's 40th annual ACC Baseball Championship will be televised for the seventh straight year with RSN, a regional network that includes Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic, FOX Sports Net South, FOX Sports Florida and New England Sports Network, providing coverage. Selected other games will be available via Sun Sports and SportsSouth. Check local listings for more details. Sunday's championship game will air on ESPN2 for the second straight year.


All games will live-streamed via the Internet by ESPN3. In addition, all 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. games will be broadcast via satellite radio on Sirius XM 85. The 7 p.m. Wednesday (May 22) and Thursday (May 23) games will be broadcast on Sirius 93/XM 190. The Friday (May 24) 7 p.m. game will be carried on Sirius 111/XM 190, and the Saturday 7 p.m. game will be carried on Sirius 158/XM 190. Sunday afternoon’s championship game will be carried by Sirius XM 91 (College SportsNation).


Complete ACC Baseball Championship Schedule

Wednesday, May 22

Game 1 - #2 Florida State vs. #7 Georgia Tech, 11:00 a.m.

Game 2 - #3 Virginia vs. #6 Virginia Tech, 3:00 p.m.

Game 3 - #4 NC State vs. #5 Clemson, 7:00 p.m.


Thursday, May 23

Game 4 - #3 Virginia vs. #7 Georgia Tech, 11:00 a.m.

Game 5 - #1 North Carolina vs. #8 Miami, 3:00 p.m.

Game 6 - #2 Florida State vs. #6 Virginia Tech, 7:00 p.m.


Friday, May 24

Game 7 - #4 NC State vs. #8 Miami, 11:00 a.m.

Game 8 - #6 Virginia Tech vs. #7 Georgia Tech, 3:00 p.m.

Game 9 - #1 North Carolina vs. #5 Clemson, 7:00 p.m.


Saturday, May 25

Game 10 - #2 Florida State vs. #3 Virginia, 11:00 a.m.

Game 11 - #5 Clemson vs. #8 Miami, 3:00 p.m.

Game 12 - #1 North Carolina vs. #4 NC State, 7:00 p.m.


Sunday, May 26

Game 13 - Bracket A Winner vs. Bracket B Winner, 1:00 p.m.