VSU Offering In-State Tuition to Florida, Alabama, and South Carolina Residents

VSU Valdosta State University
Posted at 8:14 AM, Apr 01, 2015
and last updated 2015-04-01 04:59:09-04

TALLAHASSEE, FL (WTXL) - Valdosta State University announced Tuesday that residents of Florida, Alabama, and South Carolina will be eligible for in-state tuition, starting in the 2015-2016 school year.

Previously, the university only offered unlimited out-of-state tuition waivers to residents of Leon, Jefferson, Columbia, Baker, Hamilton, Madison, and Nassau counties in Florida.

The VSU Board of Regents approved the tuition request Monday.

VSU officials say there are still limited tuition waivers available for international students and residents of other states.

The university also says the change in this tuition policy allows VSU to recruit in the closest metropolitan area, Jacksonville, where they say many alumni reside.