News

Actions

Teen Driving Laws and Safety

Teen Driving
Posted at 6:00 PM, Feb 10, 2015
and last updated 2015-08-21 11:34:41-04

TALLAHASSEE, FLA. (WTXL) - A Chiles high school student died Saturday morning after a crash that involved five other minors.

According to officers, a 15-year-old was driving the car. Now the community is mourning the loss of 14 year old Ansley Rayborn who was ejected from the vehicle.

According to the National Center for Health Statistics, the leading cause of death among teens and young adults is motor vehicle crashes. Studies have shown that stricter laws and restrictions are associated with lower fatal crash rates.

In Florida, drivers under the age of 17 can only drive between 6am and 11pm. Drivers with learner's permits must have a 21 year old passenger in the front seat of the vehicle at all times.

Bert Cassidy with Safety American Institute says young drivers' biggest disadvantage is a lack of experience. He also recommends that if a parent is not comfortable teaching their child how to drive, then they should send seek outside help. He says, "This is a skill, this is a skill that becomes honed as you practice more and more. Good eye and hand coordination can make you a better driver, but it's still a skill that you need to practice or work on like everything else."

For more information on the licensing requirements for teens in the state of Florida, you can go to www.flhsmv.gov.