State of Emergency Declared for 4 Georgia Counties

State of Emergency
Posted at 4:30 PM, Jan 05, 2017
and last updated 2017-01-05 16:30:00-05

GEORGIA (WTXL) - Georgia's governor has declared a state of emergency for four South Georgia counties following a tornado that touched down Monday evening.

Governor Nathan Deal declared Mitchell, Baker, Calhoun and Dougherty counties are the primary areas in need of assistance.

This following the assessment from the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency, and local emergency management agencies.

Governor Deal says the state is making all resources available to local partners to assist with damage assessment, cleanup and restoration efforts.