(WTXL) - A New Year means new laws for states across the country including Florida and Georgia.
What are some of the big ones for both states?
Florida has a few impacting families and entry-level workers while Georgia's new laws affect certain first responders and those of you looking into buying a car.
Let's start with the sunshine state minimum wage is going up by 15 cents to $8.25 an hour, which is a dollar more than the national standard.
In 2004, Florida voters approved adjusting the minimum wage each year based on what's called the Consumer Price Index. If you look back at the year 2005, the minimum wage was just six dollars and 15 cents.
Also new this year, a plan when it comes to parenting. For divorced and separated parents with children, this time-sharing plan creates a schedule for visitations, in case the parents can't come up with their own or if the court orders a plan.
There's also a new website for parents when it comes to paying and getting child support.
Over in Georgia, a new tax provision charges those buying an used car based on the sales price or the state's book value, whichever is higher.
Used-car dealers say this means buyers will end up paying a lot more, but supporters of the law say used and new cars will now have the same tax formula.
We'll wrap up with a new law designed to help firefighters battling health issues.
Local fire departments will offer insurance for members with certain types of cancer by providing lump sums up to three years of disability for firefighters who can't work due to a specific injury or illness.
Also in Florida, new state employees will see changes when it comes to their retirement plans.