Local Police Officers Win State Awards

TPD Officers of the Year 2014
Posted at 11:30 AM, Jul 02, 2015
and last updated 2015-07-02 07:37:22-04

TALLAHASSEE, FL (WTXL) -- Officers from the Tallahassee Police Department and Florida State University have earned the 2014 Lee McGehee Police Officer of the Year Award by the Florida Police Chiefs Association (FPCA).

The award is divided into three categories, based on the size of the agency. TPD was recognized in the "large agencies" division, with 75 or more sworn officers. FSU was recognized in the "medium-sized agencies" division, with 31-75 sworn officers.

TPD Investigator Mark Lewis and Officer Scott Angulo have been recognized for the annual award, which honors police officers who have "demonstrated exceptional achievement and shown a genuine commitment to their profession, their agency and the public they serve." 

The officers were recognized for their actions when a shooter was actively targeting law enforcement officers. The two placed themselves between the shooter and the officers, returned fire and ended the confrontation.

The FSU Police Department was recognized for its efforts during an active shooter situation on campus. Officers Daniel Cutchins, Oma Nations, Orenthya Sloan, Parise Adams and Sergeant Roy Wiley were the first on the scene. The officers engaged with the shooter and were able to protect hundreds of students studying in the library during the event.