NewsLocal News


The Florida Sheriffs Association annual memorial ceremony honoring fallen LEO on Sunday

Fallen officers honored in Tallahassee
Posted at 6:24 PM, Sep 17, 2021
and last updated 2021-09-17 18:24:12-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) — The Florida Sheriffs Association's annual memorial ceremony honoring those who have given their lives in the line of duty will take place this Sunday in Tallahassee.

Established in 2002, the Florida Sheriffs Association incorporated the granite Memorial Wall to honor sheriff’s officers who had fallen in the line of duty.

It is a tribute to remember the sheriffs and deputies who have dedicated their lives to serve and protect Floridians while respecting those who have passed.

On the wall is an engraved verse that embraces these fallen heroes and the sacrifices they have made: “Greater love hath no man than this, that he lay down his life for his friend.” -John 15:13.

The names added to the Memorial Wall are:

  • Broward County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Benjamin Nimtz| End of Watch: July 21, 2019
  • Broward County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Shannon Bennett | End of Watch: April 3, 2020
  • Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant Jose Diaz Ayala | End of Watch: April 4, 2020
  • Lake County Sheriff’s Office Master Deputy Lynn Jones | End of Watch: June 24, 2020
  • Lake County Sheriff’s Office Master Detention Deputy Richard Barry | End of Watch: July 16, 2020
  • Jacksonville Sheriff’s Office Lieutenant Chris Cunningham | End of Watch: August 5, 2020
  • Broward County Sheriff’s Office Lieutenant Aldemar Rengifo | End of Watch: August 16, 2020
  • Santa Rosa County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Charles Pugh | End of Watch: August 18, 2020
  • Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Maurice Ford | End of Watch: August 29, 2020
  • Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Angela Chavers | End of Watch: September 12, 2020
  • Clay County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant Eric Twisdale | End of Watch: September 16, 2020
  • Seminole County Sheriff’s Office Sergeant James LaRue Rengifo | End of Watch: November 20, 2020
  • Hardee County Sheriff’s Office Major Maxwell “Randy” Dey Jr | End of Watch: November 27, 2014

The ceremony will begin Sunday, September 19, 2021, at 2:00 p.m. at the Memorial Wall at the Florida Sheriffs Association Headquarters, located at 2617 Mahan Drive, Tallahassee, Florida 32308.

It will also be streamed on Facebook via the FSA Facebook page.