NewsLocal News


Hard freeze warnings issued for Big Bend area, South Georgia

Posted at 2:57 PM, Dec 25, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-25 17:13:07-05

(WTXL) — A hard freeze warning has been issued for multiple counties in the Big Bend area and South Georgia.

The following counties are under a freeze warning until 9 a.m. on Saturday:


- Franklin County

- Gadsden County

- Leon County

- Jefferson County

- Madison County

- Liberty County

- Wakulla County

- Taylor County

- Lafayette County

- Tift County


- Early County

- Lee County

- Dougherty County

- Terrell County

- Calhoun County

- Randolph County

- Clay County

- Quitman County

- Dale County

- Coffee County

- Miller County

- Baker County

A hard freeze warning means sub-freezing temperatures, 20 to 23 degrees, are imminent or highly likely.

These conditions will kill crops and other sensitive vegetation.

A hard freeze warning may make travel very hazardous or impossible. The latest road conditions for the state you are calling from can be obtained by calling 5-1-1.

As always, be sure to follow the ABC 27 First Alert Weather Team on Facebook and Twitter.

Be sure to download the Storm Shield App to get watches and warnings delivered straight to your phone to stay updated on your forecast through the week. Get the app today: iPhone/iPad | Android.