NewsLocal News


Gov. DeSantis extends emergency declaration for counties impacted by Hurricane Michael

State of Emergency
Posted at 1:07 PM, Apr 02, 2019
and last updated 2019-04-02 13:13:10-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) — Governor Ron DeSantis has extended the state of emergency declared in several local counties as a result of Hurricane Michael.

Gov. DeSantis signed Executive Order 19-98, which extends the state of emergency for 60 days in the following counties: Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Washington, Bay, Jackson, Calhoun, Gulf, Gadsden, Liberty, Franklin, Leon, Wakulla and Jefferson.

Hurricane Michael made landfall as a category 4 storm near Mexico Beach on Oct. 10, 2018, ranking by pressure as the third most intense Atlantic hurricane to ever make landfall in the U.S.

The extension will allow the state to continue to execute their emergency management plan to continue to help with recovery in the listed counties.

You can read the full executive order here.