NewsLocal News


Gov. Brian Kemp extends state of emergency in Georgia

Clinch, Echols now included in executive order
georgia state of emergency
Posted at 8:21 AM, Sep 04, 2019
and last updated 2019-09-04 08:21:16-04

(WTXL) — Georgia Governor Brian Kemp has expanded a state of emergency to include nine more counties, including Clinch and Echols counties.

Wednesday morning, Gov. Kemp issued an Executive Order expanding the State of Emergency declared on August 29 to nine more Georgia counties.

Those counties include Appling, Bacon, Bulloch, Clinch, Echols, Evans, Screven, Tattnall, and Ware Counties.

Currently, there are twenty-one Georgia counties under a State of Emergency declaration. Those are Appling, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Camden, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Echols, Effingham, Evans, Glynn, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Ware, and Wayne counties.

For up-to-date information on Hurricane Dorian, visit Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security, call 1-800-TRY-GEMA (1-800-879-4362), or follow @GeorgiaEMA and @GovKemp.