NewsLocal News


Georgia Department of Health suspends dine-in services for restaurants

Posted at 9:50 AM, Mar 25, 2020
and last updated 2020-03-25 09:51:45-04

(WTXL) — Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Georgia Department of Health has order that all dining areas be closed for dine-in service effective immediately.

This includes all permitted food service establishments and tourist accommodations in South Health District, including Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Cook, Echols, Irwin, Lanier, Lowndes, Tift and Turner Counties.

The closures are effective immediately through April 6.

Officials say take out, drive-thru, delivery, and to-go orders are permitted.

Restaurant owners are encouraged to limit the number of customers allowed in their establishments to no more than 10 at a time to pick up orders.

In addition, they must ensure customers that are waiting to pick up orders practice proper social distancing by keeping a six-foot distance between them.