Visit Site

Florida law increasing fines for illegally passing school buses takes effect on Jan. 1

Posted at 5:28 PM, Dec 29, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-29 17:32:33-05

(WTXL) — Fines will be increased next year for Florida drivers who choose to illegally pass stopped school buses.

H.B. 37, also known as the School Bus Safety Act, increases the fine to $200 from $100 for failure to stop for a school bus with its stop-arm extended and flashing red lights activated.

For a second or subsequent offense within a five-year period, your driver's license will be suspended for at least 180 days.

For drivers who pass a school bus on the side that children enter and exit when the school bus displays a stop signal, you'll be hit with a $400 fine.

If you're caught doing it again within a five-year period, your driver's license will be suspended for at least a year.

The law takes effect on January 1, 2021.

The Leon County Sheriff's office also posted a reminder of the new law on their Facebook page and shared their own explainer video on when it is OK to pass a school bus.