NewsLocal News


2020 - 2021 Leon County Schools Teacher of the Year finalists announced

Leon County Schools
Posted at 6:18 PM, Dec 02, 2020
and last updated 2020-12-02 18:18:52-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) — Leon County Schools announced five finalists Wednesday for the Teacher of the Year Award.

The finalists were chosen from a pool of 37 candidates with blind applications and will sit for interviews with the selection committee next week before the district announces a winner, according to a press release.

The five finalists are:

  • Cheryl Christie from Lawton Chiles High School, and teaches Digital Media and Digital Information Technology
  • SheKishma O’Reilly from James S. Rickards High School, who teaches 10th grade Language and Composition at the Advanced Placement level, 11th grade English III Literature at the International Baccalaureate level
  • Elaine Owens from DeSoto Trail Elementary, who teaches kindergarten
  • Althea Valle from Amos P. Godby High School, who teaches secondary English as a second language (ESOL)
  • Tiffany Ward from William Montford Middle School, who teaches eighth grade Math and Geometry Honors

The Teacher of the Year will be surprised at their school on the morning of Thursday, Dec. 10, and shared via Facebook Live.

Augusta Raa Middle School's reading coach, Language Arts teacher, and eighth grade team leader Trikia White was the 2019-2020 Leon County Schools Teacher of the Year.