Leon High School educator named LCS Teacher of the Year

Rebecca Kirchharr award
Posted at 10:46 AM, Feb 15, 2013
and last updated 2013-02-15 07:07:58-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. -- Leon County School Superintendent Jackie Pons made a surprise visit today to one Leon High School teacher’s classroom. Alongside Leon High School Principal Billy Epting and a gathering of supporters, Superintendent Pons recognized Ms. Rebecca Kirchharr as the 2013 Leon County Schools Teacher of the Year.

“This is an exciting day for the entire Leon Schools community as we recognize Ms. Kirchharr as the 2013 Teacher of the Year,” said Superintendent Jackie Pons. “We have some of the best teachers in the state of Florida and their hard work and dedication are the reason our district continues to be one of the best.”

Ms. Kirchharr has been teaching English and Reading at Leon High the previous three school years. She is the target team leader of her department, gifted coordinator, reading coach and the coach of the JV tennis team.

Ms. Kirchharr writes in her Teacher of the Year application that she is relentlessly committed to her students. “When students are encouraged to learn how to think, student performance undergoes profound change,” she wrote. “It is my responsibility and I am honored by the opportunity to help students learn to think for themselves.”

“Rebecca Kirchhaar has a true passion for educating students and is a dedicated and gifted educator,” said Principal Epting. “We are proud of her and know that she is an outstanding representative of the teachers at Leon High School, Leon County and the State of Florida”

Rebecca was selected by a committee of teachers, administrators, parents and community representatives from among 42 candidates. The committee first selected five finalists based on their reviews of ‘blind applications’ (no names or schools on them) from each respective LCS school level Teacher of the Year. Then the committee interviewed the finalists based on questions and criteria established by the state TOY program. All committee members score and vote to determine the winner.