Leon County Schools announces new principals for 2018-19

Tallahassee Leon Schools announces new pricipals
Tallahassee Leon Schools announces new pricipals
Posted at 3:15 PM, May 22, 2018
and last updated 2018-05-22 23:43:08-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) - Leon County Schools announced the following new principals for the 2018-19 school year on Tuesday.

They will begin serving following School Board approval.

Mrs. Jennifer Ricardo, the new principal of Apalachee Elementary School, has been the assistant principal at Chaires Elementary for the previous three years. Prior to that (2009-2012), Mrs. Ricardo served as assistant principal of Ruediger Elementary. Mrs. Ricardo will be replacing Dr. Iris Wilson, who is retiring after 35 years of service.

Dr. Lisa Mehr, the new principal of Woodville Elementary, has been an assistant principal at Ft. Braden School for the previous four years. Prior to that she was an assistant principal at August Raa for eight years.

Mrs. Taita Scott, the new principal of Riley Elementary School, has been the principal of Woodville for the previous four years, and was the assistant principal there for the three years prior to that.

Mrs. Sarah Hembree, the new principal of Cobb Middle School, has been an assistant principal at Leon High School for the previous eight years. Prior to Leon, Mrs. Hembree worked as a coordinator at the district and previously taught at Cobb. Mrs. Hembree will be replacing Tonja Fitzjerald who will be moving to the district to become a co-director of the ESE department.

Mrs. Carmen Conner, the new principal of Pineview Elementary School, replaces Dr. Marilyn Rahming who is not being reappointed as an LCS administrator.