Gov. Nathan Deal issues state of emergency for Georgia coastal counties

state of emergency
Posted at 3:01 PM, Sep 06, 2017
and last updated 2017-09-06 15:01:00-04

GEORGIA (WTXL) - Ahead of Hurricane Irma, Gov. Nathan Deal announced that he has issued a state of emergency for six coastal counties. 

This emergency declaration includes Bryan, Camden, Chatham, Glynn, Liberty and McIntosh Counties. 

“Ahead of Hurricane Irma, I’ve issued an executive order prohibiting price gouging and waiving rules and regulations for motor vehicles transporting supplies, equipment, personnel, goods and services associated with disaster assistance and relief,” said Deal. "This state of emergency also ensures aid for the six counties potentially impacted by this catastrophic storm. We will continue monitoring Hurricane Irma’s path in the days ahead and coordinating with our federal, state and local partners. I urge Georgians in the affected counties to remain vigilant and be prepared."

To read the executive order click here

For more information on hurricane preparedness, visit the Georgia Emergency Management and Homeland Security Agency website here