NewsGeorgia News


Gov. Deal Declares State of Emergency in Several So. Ga. Counties

State of Emergency
Posted at 12:04 PM, Jan 22, 2017
and last updated 2017-01-22 08:56:36-05

ATLANTA, Ga. (WTXL) -- Georgia Governor Nathan Deal has declared a state of emergency for seven south Georgia counties in response to the severe weather situation that has occurred Saturday night and Sunday morning.

Berrien, Brooks, Colquitt, Cook, Lowndes, and Thomas counties are included in this seven-day emergency declaration to help in immediate response assistance.

“These storms have devastated communities and homes in South Central Georgia, and the state is making all resources available to the impacted areas,” the governor said in an official press release statement.

Gov. Deal plans to visit these storm-impacted locations in the coming days.

Five Good Samaritan shelters are being opened in the area, with locations yet to be identified.