Georgia Governor expands state of emergency for 64 additional counties

Posted at 3:47 PM, Sep 08, 2017
and last updated 2017-09-08 15:47:00-04

GEORGIA (WTXL) - Gov. Nathan Deal has declared a state of emergency in most of South Georgia.

Following a recommendation from Georgia Emergency Management officials, Gov. Nathan Deal expanded the state of emergency to include a total of 94 counties on Friday.

Mandatory evacuations for coastal areas east of I-95 and all of Chatham County remain in place and contraflow on I-16 will begin at 8 a.m. Saturday.

The additional counties include: Baker, Baldwin, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Brooks, Calhoun, Chattahoochee, Clay, Colquitt, Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Decatur, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Early, Grady, Harris, Houston, Irwin, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Laurens, Lee, Lowndes, Macon, Marion, Meriwether, Miller, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscogee, Peach, Pike, Pulaski, Quitman, Randolph, Schley, Seminole, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Troup, Turner, Twiggs, Upson, Washington, Webster, Wheeler, Wilcox, Wilkinson and Worth Counties.

Find the full list of counties affected here.

For more information and resources on evacuation routes, shelters and hurricane preparedness, visit or 1-800-TRY-GEMA.