Georgia Approved for Individual Assistance

7 Dead in Adel after Tornado Outbreak Rips Through South Georgia
Posted at 3:53 PM, Jan 26, 2017
and last updated 2017-01-26 11:30:39-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) - Gov. Nathan Deal received notice today that six counties impacted by the severe weather on January 21 and 22 have been approved for individual assistance.

Additionally, Deal has requested individual assistance for the remaining 10 counties under the state of emergency.

According to the Office of the Governor, the White House and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) told Deal earlier today that assistance will be provided to individuals and households.

Gov. Deal says "Following my conversations with President Trump and FEMA, I’m confident that public assistance for all 16 counties will be approved expeditiously."

The Georgia Governor believes that the approval of his public assistance requests "is critical to the state as well as local communities."

The following counties have already been approved:

  • Berrien
  • Cook
  • Crisp
  • Dougherty
  • Turner
  • Wilcox