Floridians can soon get concealed weapons licenses in 57 tax collector's offices

Concealed weapons
Posted at 12:09 PM, Oct 26, 2017
and last updated 2017-10-26 08:43:10-04

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) – Florida residents can apply for or renew concealed weapon licenses at 57 tax collector office locations in 50 counties as of Friday.

Florida Commissioner of Agriculture Adam H. Putnam said the Franklin County Tax Collector's Office will become the 50th concealed weapon permit partnership with tax collector's offices on Friday.

"We’re dedicated to making our concealed weapon license application and renewal process as convenient as possible for law-abiding citizens," Putnam said. "By partnering with county tax collectors, we’re increasing efficiency while enhancing customer service.”

In 2014, Putnam implemented the partnership. It allows tax collectors to receive applications, take fingerprints and photographs, and send the information to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to process the request for a concealed weapon license.

Tax collector offices also offer on-site, same-day printing of renewal licenses for Floridians.

Since the partnership with tax collectors began, more than 217,000 concealed weapon license applications have been accepted by tax collector offices. Florida has more than 1.8 million concealed weapon licenses.

The 50 tax collectors participating in both the application and renewal process for concealed weapon licenses include the following counties:

Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Brevard, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, Dixie, Escambia, Flagler, Franklin, Gulf, Hardee, Hendry, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Holmes, Indian River, Jackson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon, Levy, Liberty, Manatee, Marion, Martin, Monroe, Nassau, Okaloosa, Okeechobee, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Santa Rosa, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter, Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Walton, Wakulla and Washington.

Consumers can still apply for or renew a concealed weapon license via mail or at one of the department’s eight regional offices: Doral, Fort Walton, Jacksonville, North Port, Orlando, Tallahassee, Tampa and West Palm Beach.

Concealed weapon licenses are valid for seven years.

MOBILE USERS: Download our WTXL news app on your Apple and Android devices for the latest from South Georgia and North Florida. Also, download our WTXL Weather Now app for Apple and Android devices to get the latest local weather wherever you go. 

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for additional local news and hourly updates.

Copyright 2017 WTXL via Raycom News Network. All rights reserved.