TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) — The Florida Highway Patrol is warning spring break visitors to stay safe while they're on vacation.
The agency announced Monday it will partner with other law enforcement agencies to enforce drinking age laws and to keep impaired drivers off the roads.
Highway Patrol director Col. David Brierton says anyone caught driving while under the influence will face tough penalties and that the costs can range from $5,000 to $20,000.
In Florida, the legal age to drink is 21 and anyone under that age can be cited for a first-degree misdemeanor if they're caught in possession of alcohol. Possession of an open alcoholic beverage container in a vehicle is also a violation, even if the car is stopped.
Brierton also suggests designating a sober driver before heading out for the evening.