Florida Teacher of the Year to be announced

Posted at 6:18 AM, Jul 11, 2013
and last updated 2013-07-11 02:21:24-04

ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) — Florida's 2014 Teacher of the Year is set to be named in Orlando.

The Florida Department of Education and Macy's are holding a ceremony Thursday at the Hard Rock Live at Universal Studios. The event will be hosted by Emmy Award-winning journalist Deborah Norville and is scheduled to begin at 6:30 p.m.

Five finalists were selected in May from among 72 school district nominees: Nancy Smith, of Citrus High School in Citrus County; Apryl Shackelford, of Northwestern Middle School in Duval County; Patricia Gair, of Cypress Lake High School in Lee County; Dorina Sackman, of Westridge Middle School in Orange County; and Katrin Rudge, of Riverview High School in Sarasota County.

The Teacher of the Year will receive a $10,000 grant funded by the Macy's Foundation, along with an all-expense paid trip for four to New York City to attend the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade.