FAMU Student Body President and Vice President Reinstated

FAMU Student Body President and Vice President Reinstated
Posted at 5:40 PM, Jan 12, 2017
and last updated 2017-01-12 13:28:59-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) - After fighting for eleven months, FAMU's student body president and vice president have been reinstated.

Last February, Justin Bruno and Devin Harrison were elected as the student body president and vice president.

Shortly after, an appeal had been filed and the two were removed from their position.

The months that followed were filled with determination from Bruno and Harrison.

The fight for the right to serve their school went all the way up to the First District Court of Appeals.

Bruno and Harrison have a sense of closure now that they have been reinstated, but still believe that they were wronged.

"I will say that just because this day has arrived, that doesn't mean that everything has been fixed. All wrongs have not been righted and all the imperfections have not been corrected," said Justin Bruno, student body president. "We do acknowledge that we have months ahead of us to do as much as we can to serve the student body and move forward."

Even though Bruno and Harrison's term will end in May, they plan to assess and serve the needs of the students just as they had originally planned.

FAMU released this statement regarding the SGA's electoral commission's decision:

The Florida Legislature has provided for university student governments to self-govern, and pursuant to the August 2016 opinion, the First District Court of Appeals upheld this autonomy.

Subsequently, on January 11, 2017, Florida A&M University’s Student Government Association (SGA) – through its Electoral Commission – issued an electoral resolution determining that Justin Bruno and Devin Harrison are the SGA President and Vice President, respectively. The SGA has the authority to self-govern pursuant to Florida Law and the Florida Board of Governors’ regulation.

The University's administration looks forward to working with SGA's representatives.