2020 Elections: Sheriff races in the Big Bend

Posted at 8:31 AM, Nov 02, 2020
and last updated 2020-11-02 13:09:49-05

LEON COUNTY, Fla. (WTXL) — Candidates in several Big Bend counties are duking it out to become the county's next Sheriff.

Here's a break down of the candidates in our surrounding counties.


Incumbent A.J. "Tony" Smith (R) will go head-to-head against former Franklin County deputy Carlton Louie Whaley (D) on Nov. 3.

Smith took over the office for a term in 2017 after the retirement of former Sheriff Mike Mock.


Marianna Police Department Chief Hayes Baggett (D) will vie against Donnie Edenfield (R), who works as a training manager for the North Florida Region of Probation and Parole, to lead the Jackson County Sheriff's office.

The seat is being left vacant by Sheriff Louis Roberts III, who is not running for re-election.


Former interim Liberty County Sheriff Buddy Money (R) will take on Democratic incumbent Eddie Joe White on Nov. 3 to become the county's next Sheriff.

White is seeking re-election after being elected as sheriff in 2016.


Madison County deputy David Harper (NPA), Madison County deputy William Franklin Sircy (NPA), Madison County Police Lieutenant Chris Cooks (D), Madison Police Department Chief Kenneth "Ken" Moore (IND) are all squaring off on Nov. 3.

The incumbent, Sheriff Benjamin Stewart, is not seeking re-election.

If none of the candidates capture 50 percent of the vote, a run-off election between the two candidates with the highest amount of votes will be held in to decide on the winner.


Incumbent Sam St. John (R) will go head-to-head against retired law enforcement officer Shawn Hingson (NPA) on Nov. 3.

St. John is seeking re-election after serving one term as Sheriff.