Early voting begins for Ga. special elections

Posted at 11:42 AM, Dec 26, 2012
and last updated 2012-12-26 14:13:11-05

UPDATED (12/26/12 at 7:10 p.m.) --

THOMASVILLE, Ga. (WTXL) -- November may have come and gone, but in South Georgia voters like Sidney Perry are heading back to the polls.

“The process was extremely smooth, checked in; lady took all my information filled out a form.

in and out in probably two or three minutes,” said Perry.

On the ballot is just one race. The seat for Georgia State Senate District 11. It covers Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller, Seminole and portions of Mitchell and Thomas counties.

The seat was opened with the abrupt resignation earlier this month of former state senator John Bulloch.

No reason was given for his resignation.

In the race to fill Bulloch's seat are six candidates, five republicans including former state representative Mike Keown, and libertarian Jeffrey Bivins.

But on the day after Christmas, voting is off to a slow start.

Elections Supervisor Phillip Henry says because this election runs through the holidays, it's tough to actually predict what turnout will be.

But voters just have a few days to cast their early vote before Election Day on January 8th.

THOMASVILLE, Ga. -- Early voting for a special election aimed at filling a vacant District 11 state Senate seat begins on December 26.

The vacancy comes after Senator John Bulloch, who represents District 11, decided to step down.

Marshall Berman, Dean Burke, Brad Hughes, Mike Keown, and Eugene McNease are running as republicans on the ticket; Jeffrey Bivins is running as a libertarian.

The person chosen will represent several south Georgia counties, including Colquitt, Decatur, Early, Grady, Miller, Seminole and portions of Mitchell and Thomas Counties.

The big election day is January 8, but you can early vote from December 26-28 at the following times and locations:

Colquitt County - Courthouse Annex: 101 East Central Avenue, Room 109, Moultrie, GA 31768

Wednesday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Decatur County - Fair Grounds: 1211 Vader Rd., Bainbridge, GA 39817Wednesday - Friday 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Early County - Elections Office: 111 Court Square, Suite D, Blakely, GA 39823

Contact them directly for hours of operation. (229) 723-3454

Grady County - Courthouse, 250 N. Broad St., Cairo, GA 39828

Wednesday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Miller County - Courthouse: 155 S. First St., Room 109, Colquitt, GA 39837

Thursday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Mitchell County - Courthouse, 11 West Broad, Camilla, GA 31730

Wednesday - Friday 8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Seminole County - Courthouse: 200 S. Knox Avenue, Donaldsonville, GA 39845

Wednesday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Thomas County - New Courthouse: 325 N Madison St., Thomasville, GA 31792

Wednesday - Friday 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.