Big Bend, South Georgia counties placed under tornado watch

Posted at 10:51 AM, Mar 20, 2018
and last updated 2018-03-20 07:17:53-04

(WTXL) - The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch for several counties in the north Florida and south Georgia area.

The tornado watches are valid until 7 p.m. Tuesday in the following Big Bend counties: Lafayette, Suwannee, Taylor, Hamilton, Dixie, Columbia and Gilchrist.

The warning includes the cities of St. George, Suwannee Springs, Live Oak, Jasper, Lake City, and McAlpin.

Tornado watches have also been activated in Georgia's Camden and Charlton counties. 

Most of WTXL's coverage area is also under wind advisory until 11 p.m. Tuesday evening. The advisory means that winds are expected to sustain at least 26 to 39 mph gusts with even stronger gusts possible.

Winds this strong can make driving difficult, so use extra caution when on the roads. 

MOBILE USERS: Download our WTXL news app on your Apple and Android devices for the latest from South Georgia and North Florida. Also, download our WTXL First Alert Weather app for Apple and Android devices to get the latest local weather wherever you go. 

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter for additional local news and hourly updates.

Copyright 2018 WTXL via Raycom News Network. All rights reserved.