Appointees for State Constitution Revision Commission Announced

Appointees for State Constitution Revision Commission Announced
Posted at 4:27 PM, Feb 06, 2017
and last updated 2017-02-06 15:28:19-05

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (WTXL) - Every 20 years, a group of 37 people from across Florida come together to propose changes to the state constitution.

The Constitution Revision Commission is made up of members appointed independently by the governor, senate president, speaker of the house, and chief justice of the state Supreme Court, as well as the state attorney general.

Any proposals approved by the commission, would go in front of voters on the 2018 ballot.

The first group of appointees was named today, by Florida Supreme Court Chief Justice Jorge Labarga, who had three selections.

During a news conference in the Supreme Court rotunda, Labarga announced the choices of former Florida Bar President Hank Coxe, former U.S. Attorney Roberto Martinez, and former State Senate Minority Leader Arthenia Joyner.

Labarga says the three attorneys he has chosen, fully understand the importance of their responsibility.

No timetable has been given for when the governor and legislative leaders will make their selections.

The commission plans to meet several times over the next year or so, all across the state.