26 Additional Counties Eligible for Public Assistance Funding in Florida

Posted at 9:44 PM, Oct 06, 2017
and last updated 2017-10-06 18:00:38-04

MIDWAY, Fla. (WTXL) - It was recently announced that 26 more counties across the sunshine state are eligible for public assistance funding after hurricane Irma.

In our area, Jefferson, Lafayette, Leon and Wakulla counties are included on the list. Other counties making the list are Alachua, Bradford, Brevard, DeSoto, Dixie, Gilchrist, Hardee, Highlands, Indian River, Lake, Levy, Marion, Martin, Okeechobee, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, St. Lucie, Sumter, Taylor, Union, and Volusia.

Assistance may cover eligible debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair or rebuilding of public facilities.

Approved projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA.