WTXL Recieves Honors At This Year's AP Awards

AP Award
Posted at 9:58 PM, Apr 11, 2015
and last updated 2015-04-13 08:19:05-04

TALLAHASSEE, FLA. (WTXL) - Saturday, the winners were announced for this year's Associated Press Awards. 

A few members of the WTXL team were honored in several categories this evening including Breaking News, Cultural/ Historical Feature, Light Feature, and Public Affairs.

The WTXL sunrise team was awarded for the breaking news coverage of the shooting that occurred on Florida State University's campus.

Weekday anchor, Jade Bulecza, alongside news director, David Lee were honored for their work on the Insider's story: Heritage or Hate?

Meteorologist Max Tsaparis received an award for Tsaparis Tscience piece: Grain Silo Explosion, along side assistant news director Kiki Jones and chief photojournalist Bridget Anne Burke.

The weather team also came away with an award for Hurricane 2014: Ready Now.

The WTXL newsroom was a finalist in the category: Best Overall.